Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

It is true that movies from other countries are quite popular among people rather than their regional cinemas. There could be several reasons for this but helping local theatres by providing financial aid should not be a good idea to prompt them. To commence with, this issue can be caused by different factors. Firstly, the invention of the internet brings exposure to people about different cultures throughout the world. Film production units in developed countries can spend more on technological gadgets, quality improvement, and story writers as compared to local film industries. As a consequence, foreigners can produce superior-quality pictures which can attract worldwide viewers. Moreover, They could be able to launch movies in every country of the world which is very difficult for low-cost regional theatres. Apart from that these movies are also released after dubbing into local languages. However, governments should not invest their precious resources in these industries. The prominent reason is that they would not be able to compete with Hollywood or other mature production houses. Hence, it is just a waste of money that could be used for providing other necessary facilities like education, hospitals, transportation and many more. In addition, a well-educated individual could produce better movies within a budget by inventing new technology. Even, most mature filmmakers also did hard work to improve their movie quality without any help from higher authorities. In conclusion, I reiterate that the lack of technology, funds and screening can be a source of this problem but financial support by governments is not a reasonable method to overcome this issue.