A noticeable lack of students opting for science subjects at universities is observed in various countries. What are the reasons and what are the effects on society?

The number of students who pursue studies in science courses in higher education nowadays has been reduced and this trend is an alarming situation for the respective countries. The reasons behind this phenomenon are due to personal and financial factors and in this essay, I will highlight further the impact on society if this continues to occur. A major factor leading to a reduced number of students taking up science courses is first due to lack of interest in science. Fields of science such as chemistry and physics are often viewed as challenging by students which usually require substantial efforts by students to master them. Secondly, it appears that some students are not adequately exposed to science courses beforehand. It is a norm that family, social circle and to a certain extent cyberspace pose a major influence on the students in deciding which course they should sign up for in the university. Therefore, without enough promotion, there will be fewer students who will be interested in this area. Thirdly, financial issue plays an important role in deciding the path of higher education. Science courses are undeniably more expensive than art courses and those who cannot afford to pay will be left with few choices available in their hand. I believe that a decline in science graduates may lead to minimal experts in this area. Consequently, the affected nation may require importing professionals such as doctors or engineers to fill critical job vacancies. Hence, the country may face financial implications as the costs involved are not cheap. For example, in South Africa, billions of dollars were lost after many expertss migrated to other countries. Furthermore, technological advancement can be slowed down. For instance, there will be a lack of innovations that assist people in daily life as science concepts are required in numerous areas, such as improvisation of health, transportation, agriculture and many more. In conclusion, the reasons behind this vary while the effects on society are grim, which include a lack of innovation and a reduced number of scholars in science. The impacts are detrimental to society if it is not prevented early. Countries may need to implement changes in their educational systems to foster interest and skill in science from an early age.