More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems overreliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution.

In contemporary society, the prevalence of private cars as their primary mode of mobility is growing dramatically. However, though the excessive use of private cars contributes to myriad issues, there are some solutions to alleviate them. This essay will examine the problems caused by over-reliance on cars and propose effective solutions. To begin with, numerous factors contribute to why the excessive use of private cars is detrimental to the environment and people’s health. Firstly, one major drawback is that the massive use of private cars can considerably enhance the levels of pollutants, as private vehicles produce gas emissions, which are noxious for the environment. Consequently, such pollutants can worsen air quality, which may lead to a plethora of respiratory diseases, including asthma. Additionally, as more people drive private cars on the street, it will significantly increase traffic congestion. Therefore, such traffic congestion results in a negative impact on people’s psychology, as it leads to problems such as stress, fatigue, and frustration. Conversely, despite the disadvantages of private cars, there are some practical solutions to cope with the problems. One instrumental action is for the government to promulgate policies that prohibit private vehicle owners from driving their vehicles at a certain time. This effort aims to reduce the number of private cars and lessen the levels of pollutants. For instance, the government can introduce a car-free day program during the weekend. Moreover, the government can build effective public transit systems for its residents and promote a campaign that fosters the utilization of public transportation. Hence, these actions can influence people to opt for public conveyance over private cars. To encapsulate, although the proliferation of private cars poses serious threats such as pollutants and mental health issues, imposing policies that restrict private cars and promoting transport networks offer viable pathways toward sustainability. Through these efforts, I believe that we can pave the way for a more sustainable future.