Some people believe that universities should only offer places to students with high marks, while others believe that people of all ages should be allowed even if they don’t do well in school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is thought by some people that only pupils with top marks should be allowed to study at a tertiary level while others think students of any age should be allowed even if their performance is not the best in school. In my opinion, I agree with the former, but I will be discussing both views in this essay. Firstly, I believe that grades are a representation of a student’s intellectual capabilities, discipline, and determination, therefore, a learner with higher marks would have better thinking and management skills compared to a student with lower grades. Moreover, students that are excelling in school demonstrate their desire to pursue an education in university due to the competitiveness of getting an offer. For example, a student that has top grades in school would be academically inclined and would be hardworking, which are qualities required to study at a higher level compared to their peers, who may not possess these attributes. In contrast, regardless of age, not all pupils are academically proficient. This may be a result of a lack of maturity due to young age as most juveniles do not have the ability to understand concepts fully and revise efficiently. Without these crucial traits, students may not be able to strive at a level of higher education. For example, an older learner would be able to study more effectively and understand notions better due to years of experience compared to a pupil of a younger age, making them a better asset for universities. In conclusion, I do not think that students of any age should be able to study at university due to their lack of maturity and experience. Therefore, I believe that only students with high marks should be offered to study at universities due to their capabilities showcased through their grades, making them an asset to the institution.