In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages?

Some university students prefer to pursue studying in their country, however, others opt to attend school in other nations. I believe that studying abroad provides more positive benefits than its drawbacks. One of the negative effects on students who leave their country to learn is the inevitable homesickness. Most importantly, if the student is not used to being away from family for a prolonged time. For instance, a schooler who went away to Canada to continue an educational career, it is undeniable that there will be days wherein they just want to go back home and be with their loved ones. Therefore, this may affect their ability to focus more on their study. Conversely, living away from loved ones will teach the students independence and self-reliance. As a result of not being able to rely on someone, their only option is to do things on their own without the help of others. Needs such as preparing their school uniforms and cooking meals as well as managing their time accordingly. Thus, staying alone in another place will let them trust themselves and be independent. In addition to that, this will serve as an eye-opening event for cultural differences for each university student. As they face new environments, and interact with people of different nationalities, schoolers will be knowledgeable about cultural diversities. For example, learners attending schools with random classmates from various countries and being friends with them becomes a bridge for the students to become familiar with other's beliefs. In conclusion, it is understandable that moving away from home to study leads to emotional instability such as feeling down and the eagerness to go back home. However, I believe that it will give more opportunities to college students, especially in personal and career growth.