In some parts of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one's own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a positive or a negative development?

With the popularity of DNA tests worldwide, many people tend to search their family's history. The reason for this is because of the trend of this DNA test and their curiosity to know more about their origins. This idea has a positive development because people can easily connect with their families. It is noticeable that most people lately do want to know more about their family history. This is for instance possible through different DNA test laboratories. When people register for this service, they get a chance to know more about their real ethnicity as well as to connect with other family members that they did not know about before. People find out that they have no relatives or blood from their now-home country. The information put in the database of this DNA test matches people with similarities and therefore connects relatives indirectly. This curiosity to get to know your family better is definitely positive. People that may have lost touch with their families due to catastrophes or wars, have now a chance to reconnect. This is a chance for people to get to know more about the rest of the world, and learn new language to communicate. However there are few negative effects that comes with this test. People will be sharing there personnal infromation online. This is not always used safely. Moreover, sometimes people can get disappointed when there is no information to be found. in conclusion, the positive effects of this research are good for reconnecting people through small tests that are not harmful.