Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think is a positive or negative development?

With the advancement of technology, young people use their spare time by using mobile devices. There are many reasons behind this condition, at the same time, both positive and negative impacts exist. In my perspective, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. To begin with, the majority of children are using mobile phones in their free time almost every day. One of the main reasons for this is that technology utilization saw significant growth in many industries such as the manufacturing of smartphones, tablets, computers, and electronic devices at affordable prices. This is leading to an enhanced desire for people to own a smartphone, where they can watch not only a lot of video clips through social media platforms but also play games by installing gaming applications. On the one hand, a wide range of positive developments may be caused by using smartphones. It is likely to improve children’s creativity and problem-solving skills by playing visual games. In addition, they can gain knowledge about their specific interests either in education or in sports by watching influencers' vlogs, which can be seen on TikTok. Moreover, familiarity with technology is subsequently beneficial for young people as they can apply this insight in their potential careers or future. On the other hand, many drawbacks can be raised in both physical and mental health problems. Spending too much time on screens causes physical health issues, particularly, poor eyesight, meanwhile, it creates a sedentary lifestyle, which may hinder to do many outdoor activities. Furthermore, isolated children prefer playing games inside rather than hanging out with their friends, which offers negative development, particularly, in communication skills. This is because the fear of strangers possibly encourages them to avoid meeting with friends, which makes them be more isolated kids. In conclusion, after consideration of the reasons and impacts, I believe that the drawbacks of this case will be greater than the benefits for each young person for now and for their future.