Some cities have vehicle free days where private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned in city centres. Only bus, bicycles and taxis are permitted in the city centre. Do you think the benefits outweigh the disadvantages?

On certain days, it has become quite common for certain cities to ban the use of vehicles such as private cars, trucks and motorcycles in city centres. The only transportation modes that are allowed are buses, bicycles, and taxis. In my opinion, I think that the advantages of the former outweigh the drawbacks of the latter, but I will be discussing the pros and cons of the statement. Firstly, the prohibition of using vehicles such as cars, trucks and motorcycles reduces traffic congestion and pollution. There would be less traffic due to the lack of vehicles on the road, especially during peak hours. In addition, harmful gases such as carbon monoxide, produced by the engines, are reduced, improving the environment as air quality would be better. On top of that, studies have shown that carbon monoxide can have adverse health effects as it slows down the transport of oxygen through our bloodstream. Therefore, putting a ban on such vehicles benefits the environment and our health in the long term. However, there are some drawbacks to only using buses, bicycles and taxis on vehicle-free days. A lot of people like to live in the city, especially young individuals. Due to this, there might not be enough public modes of transportation to accommodate the general public. For instance, buses and taxis have a limited amount of seats and once all the seats are occupied, there is no other space for other individuals. Nevertheless, I believe that this issue can be overcome by incorporating more public vehicles on vehicle-free days as well as staggered timings for different age groups to use these means of transport. In conclusion, the benefits outweigh the disadvantages because the advantages of days without the use of private cars, trucks and motorcycles help the environment in the long term by reducing traffic and therefore, improving air quality due to less pollution. Even though there are drawbacks, they can be overcome.