Some consumers are increasingly choosing to buy goods that are produced in their local area, rather than imported goods. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative trend?

There is no denying the fact that buying local goods has increasingly become more than buying imported goods for some consumers. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this trend and whether it is good or bad. To begin with, local products are often much cheaper than imported products, given the fact that no extra custom on it. It is also possible to say that no shipment cost would add to the price of goods. Furthermore, some countries imposed high taxes on imported products in order to encourage consumers to buy the local ones. Another reason to consider is that some products are fresher than the imported ones. Thus, people tend to choose it rather than imported goods. For example, people often like buying fruits and vegetables from local farms and they find it fresher. In terms of whether is it a positive or negative trend, in my opinion, I tend to believe that it is a beneficial trend because it will enhance the local economy. In other words, this act will support the local vendors which creates new jobs in the country. For instance, some country gives financial support to local farmers to help them to decrease the price of their products, which makes it more appealing to local consumers. As a result, it will affect the economy in a good way. In conclusion, there are several reasons that make individuals prefer buying local goods because it is more affordable and much fresher. Thus, in my opinion, this is a positive trend because it helps the economy and produces more job opportunities.