Government should not have to provide care or financial support for elderly people because it is the responsibility of each person to prepare for retirement and support him or herself. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

One of the most challenging issues in today's world is the increasing elderly population which seems to bring up several consequences for the governments. Some say the heads of state are not responsible for providing special care for this group of society, on the grounds that each individual should take care of themselves when they start to get old. I completely disagree with this viewpoint, and in this essay, I am going to elaborate on my reasons. The very first reason that I can share for being against the idea that old people should not be supported by the government is that they should be honoured and respected for the years that they have been serving the country. As it is evident, all the working citizens of a country pay a considerable amount of tax to the government during their years of employment, so as a result they should benefit from their hard work when they get old and are in need. For instance, many governments construct geriatric establishments in order to take good care of the elderly. On top of that, although it may seem that this group of people is not useful for the country, it is totally the opposite. Since old people are more experienced, they can deliver a level of wisdom to the youngsters that can consequently enhance society. That is why these individuals should not be neglected. For example, many states try to treat their elderly the best and also cherish them with different plans to keep them engaged with other social groups. On the other hand, some believe that the resources of the country should not be consumed by the elderly as they should have planned for their retirement in advance. The reason for this viewpoint is that they do not consider the elderly invaluable. For example, in some countries, there are no state nursing homes to serve the old people. All in all, although some are of the view that governments should not support the elderly financially or in any other way, I think the opposite. In my opinion, these people have the right to benefit from all the public services like all other groups in society.