In the future nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Write at least 250 words.

With the advancement in technology, there is a notion that nobody will buy physical reading materials such as printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read whatever they want online without having to spend money. In my opinion, I partially agree with this statement and I will be discussing the pros and cons of this. On the one hand, online reading is extremely beneficial to people who travel a lot. As long as a device is present, they can access anything they want from any location. For example, if a businessman is travelling for work and needs to access something urgently, he can immediately find the information needed on his device. In addition, travelling already costs money, therefore, people would prefer to spend their finances somewhere else, rather than spending on newspapers or books which they can access online for free. On the other hand, the sales of physical reading materials may not become obsolete due to the health risk that online reading possesses. Constantly reading on a device can cause eye damage, resulting in having to wear glasses, especially for young children. For instance, a habit of constantly reading a storybook online puts a strain on the eyes which can cause headaches or fatigueness. Due to this, parents may prefer to buy their children physical reading materials and to set the example, they themselves would read printed newspapers or books. In conclusion, printed newspapers or books may not be of much importance in the future due to the effortless access that online reading has. However, using devices to read contributes to eye damage, making the physical reading materials more useful in such periods. Therefore, I partially agree with this statement as there are some circumstances where printed newspapers or books will be required.