In many parts of the world there is continuous coverage of sport on television. Some people believe this discourages the young from taking part in any sport themselves. Discuss this view and give your own opinion

These days- it is noticeable that young people are becoming less interested in team games, sports and other forms of exercise. It is mY belief that this iS mainly because of our everyday work, which is increasingly sedentary. Besides, I think every person would admit that sitting and relaxing is much easier than moving and running and sweating The question is, how much of this laziness is because of the sports programmes on televisions? From one point of view it could be true that these programmes make young people lazy. However, this may be because some people who like sport, and also like watching sports, are attracted to the television programmes and spend so much time watching sport that there is no spare time for them to participate themselves. By contrast, watching sport may encourage some other young people to take up sport, as these individuals might like that sport and consequently want to try it to see how it feels. Watching such programmes on television can make us feel that we want to be active, want to play basketball, or go swimming and so on. Thus, _I would suggest that there are positive aspects of watching sports programmes In my opinion, the fundamental issue is the reason why we like sport. Does an individual like sport merely as a spectator or as a participant? If the reason is simply the pleasure of watching other people playing sports, that person will never want to be among those who take part. However, if a person enjoys being active and joining in, then Sports programmes will never prevent this