Some people think that teenagers should follow what the old people say whereas some believe that it is good for teenage people to challenge what old people say. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion.

Some individuals opine that teenagers should challenge what the elderly say. While some believe that youngsters should follow what old people say. This essay intends to discuss both perspectives. However, I side with the former statement and my reasons will be explained below. There are a number of reasons why the youth should challenge what the elderly say. Firstly, todays youth is more infromed about everything. They are smart and know how to make decisions appropriately. Today, children want a reasonable explanation on how a thing works. They do not simply just admit to do a task if somebody assigns them. For example, teenagers today question practices like female foeticide and dowry. Children are well aware what is right and what is wrong. Moreover, times were very different years back. Todays child cannot live with the same traditions and cultures. Everbody should evolve with time. On the other hand, many people opine that a child should listen to the elderly and do the same. They feel that a old person has more experience and know better how to handle a difficult situation. In some houses family members still take advise from old people about money management skills, marriage and relationships. They just assume whatever the older generation says is always right and do the same blindly. In addition to this, in many homes it is considered a disrespect towards the elderly, if one does not follow their instructions. To conclude, although, individuals who feel that it is better to obey your elders have their own valid reasons, yet I believe that todays youth has more knowledge about everything and because of this they can make decisions for themselves.