whoever controls the media also controls opinions and attitudes of the people and there is little that can be done to rectify this. do you agree or disagree?

It is contended that people's attitudes are controlled by those governing the media industry, and nothing can be done to change this. Although I acknowledge the integral role of media in individuals' perspectives towards life, I argue that other factors can also have an immense impact on one's life, with the help of which the negative effect of the press would be alleviated. The high-speed and intrusive nature of media makes it impossible to compete with. Sometimes even inherently beneficial systems such as circular reporting can bring about detrimental effects. User-generated content, such as wikis, are common contributors to circular reporting. With more people using these pages for quick information, an unverified fact in a wiki page makes its way into a published article, which is later added as a citation to the very same wiki data. As the idea has already been broadcasted to the vast majority of people, it would be almost impossible to debunk it. Moreover, technology has enabled people to access anything at any time. While this accessibility has brought immeasurable benefits by breaking the barrier between people and information, humankind's desire for quick information overpowers the desire to be certain about the validity. Media stakeholders, vigilant about possibilities, exploit the ubiquity of the media in people's lives to impose mentalities in favour of their own benefits. Unfortunately, other intellectual-affecting contributors are paralyzed in the competition with social media's high speed and invasive nature. While technologies have privileged the media over other factors, such as parents and literature, it has not succeeded in eliminating their presence completely. Parents confer beliefs, religion, and ways of thinking on children. Although these factors may be questioned as soon as children are introduced to social media, the human species' genes have been coded in a manner that optimal solace and trust are only sought with the parent's approval. Therefore, mothers and fathers are able to mitigate the disadvantageous impacts of media by offering a serene environment within which children can discuss their struggles. Such an approach can dissuade children from relying on the media as the primary source of information and enable them to be vigilant of the potential risks. Furthermore, great writers and well-known philosophers, wary of the media network, have written in-depth books on the issue; by reading these books, one would be able to substitute impulsive, aspired thinking with cautious decisions. For instance, reading books such as 1984, a book written by George Orwell, vividly depicts the invasive nature of the press, opens one's mind, and enables individuals to observe how media is affecting one's mind and perspective. This new data ultimately leads to the formation of mindful citizens, whose intellectual power mitigates the media's deleterious prevalence in their lives. In conclusion, teachers, parents and media all share equal importance in molding one's ideas, and the negative impact of each can be addressed by other parties.