In recent years virtual tourism including virtual reality tours, 360 videos has emerged as an alternative form of travelling reshaping the way people explore destinations and connect with cultural heritage from afar. How has virtual tourism reshaped the way people explore destinations and how it might affect tourism industry in the future?

The 21st century is known for the rapid development of technology and the tourism industry is no exception. Ever since virtual reality has been introduced to the market, people can easily explore and connect with different destinations and cultural heritage from afar. There is no doubt that utilizing online resources to travel has reshaped the way traveling works and will affect tourism in the upcoming decades. First of all, individuals from all the corners of the world get an opportunity to visit different destinations, without actually leaving their home. People with low-incomes, for instance, can find it difficult to save up extra money for traveling abroad, whereas disabled people, as much as they would love to go on vacation and explore museums, cannot, simply because many places are not adapted to such visitors. Despite these obstacles, everyone can have access to virtual tours, free of charge and without having to cross the borders, the only condition is having an internet connection. Besides that, 360 tours usually include educational content, for example, a summary about exhibited objects, which enhances learning and expands general knowledge, deeper understanding. Thus, virtual tourism has not only helped people from all walks of life to experience the most famous destinations from the screen, but also learn about things they observe. Nonetheless, online tours might affect the tourism industry, in both positive and negative ways. As the technology is quickly evolving, the online tours might also get even more advanced in no time. Visitors might even have an option to purchase an online guide, which would lead the way through the halls, giving detailed explanations about the exhibition, or people visiting the same site could spark up a discussion, resulting in a conversation about art, incredible nature or city views. Due to such advanced features, the number of people visiting virtual tours’ sites might increase. However, as a consequence of a growing demand, online tours might be charged, thus visitors could lose a chance to use this service for free. The future of online tourism is promising, however it has its negative side as well. Virtual tourism has been an alternative for physical traveling for quite some time now. It has definitely influenced the definition of ‘ traveling ’ around the world, offering accessibility to different places for people from all around the globe. In the upcoming years it is predicted that online reality will get even more advanced, offering new features, however it has its downsides too, like charging a fee.