Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their lives. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of the trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently, postponing baby-bearing is becoming progressively universal, especially in some Asian countries where people are facing overwhelming living pressure. From my perspective, one primary reason for delaying pregnancy is the high cost of living, and postponing baby-bearing can help alleviate the pressure, and contribute to the next generation's development. That the cost of upbringing is increasingly high has long since not been news, however, few foresaw that the situation would develop so rapidly. According to research conducted by Economists in 2023, over 60% of interviewers from Asian countries, like China, Japan, or South Korea, suggested that they would not consider pregnancy before 26, in South Korea the average age even reached 30. The most preferred reason for this choice is an economic concern, including the cost of purchasing an estate, offering the next generation high-quality education, and ensuring themselves enough pensions. Undoubtedly other factors also play a role in the trend of delaying baby-bearing, such as increasingly more women entering universities, and the extension of expecting lifetime, but the research conducted by Economists indicates that economic concern remains the predominant reason. Most columns will follow the statistics above mentioned that given that people are putting off pregnancy, those countries will face the challenge of an ageing society, and thereby people ought to give birth to more babies. However, this kind of proposal is purely out of utilitarism without any concern for the individuals' own happiness and dignity. What we have to bear in mind when considering the advantages and disadvantages of the issue is that humans, as Kant said, are the end in themselves, not a means to any other purpose, and therefore, in light of postponing pregnancy can provide people with better economic conditions and education opportunities, a country's prosperity is not the reason for people to bring forward their pregnancy plans. To summarise, I would argue that exorbitant living cost is the predominant reason for people to delay pregnancy. Furthermore, the postponement can effectively mitigate the young couples' living pressure, and thereby I support this trend that is a wise decision.