Writing Task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: ‘It is important for foreigners to know something about the history and culture of the country they live in.’ Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In the contemporary world of globalization, people are migrating to new destinations for better lifestyles but do they need to learn about the heritage of a country? This essay will discuss why it is important for such people to know about the country where they live. First of all, since foreigners need to adjust themselves to the new place, it is recommended to know about the nation's details for example its initial civilization, architecture, history etc. Consequently, it will help them in exploring new destinations and accommodate them rapidly in the new environment. For instance, if anyone moves to a new place due to work for a long term, they may potentially feel homesick, to avoid such feeling, it is always better to keep themselves indulged and the best way to do is to explore the country. Secondly, although most countries are delighted to have people from outside their country, foreigners should learn about its cultures and norms while living in it. In addition, it is necessary to make sure not to hurt residents, by doing something that may be right for you but not for them. For example, in Iran, the majority of individuals go through two months of mourning because of some historical events. If someone plays loud music or throws a party in front of them, they will likely not appreciate it. Thus, it is better to understand the society a person will be living in. To summarize, there are many challenges for foreigners to travel to a new place and live whereas most of them can be solved through knowing about the country's history, culture etc such as the feeling of leaving behind home or adjusting to a new society.