Write about the following topic: More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries. Discuss some causes and effects of this problem. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It can be clearly seen that nowadays society is facing challenges related to health and lifestyle and one of the biggest challenges is obesity especially in European and North American countries. In this essay, I will discuss the underlying causes and downside effects of this issue on these nations. In first-world countries, most members of society have a comfortable life and are above the poverty line. So, food is available in abundance with a wide range of options including processed foods which are high in salt and simple sugars. Moreover, when a bad diet is combined with a sedentary lifestyle that lacks physical activity and sports, will result in obesity and insulin resistance. For example, children nowadays do not play after school and spend most of their day watching TV or playing video games while eating fried food and drinking soda. This issue is threatening future generations which needs aggressive intervention. Health organizations around the world have worked on initiatives to promote healthy lifestyles. It is suggested that a child should have 60 minutes daily of strenuous physical activity to keep the child in caloric deficit. Also, it is recommended to reduce screen time and avoid late meals. Furthermore, parents should provide healthy food and reduce their children's intake of sugars. In Saudi Arabia, for example, schools' cantinas are not allowed to provide food high in carbohydrates like baked sweets or sell energy or sweet drinks. In conclusion, it is predicted that the number one leading cause of death in 2050 will be obesity-related deaths. So, it is time for society to take serious action toward solving this problem. It will require collaborative efforts from governments, educational institutions, medical experts and parents.