The only reason people work hard is to earn more money. There are no other reasons to do it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Currently, people are debating on whether the only incentive of individuals to work industriously is to be wealthy. In my view, although economic concern is a strong motivation, there are also other incentives, such as the willingness to repay and maintain the society which contributes to individual's success. Before exploring the non-economic motivations, it is necessary to examine first the idea that working is for money. This standpoint is considerably common in a capitalism society, where most things are attached with a price and hence wealthy people can satisfy any desires as long as they have enough fortunes. This reality in turn stimulates them to facinately admire the power of money and confines the aim of working to earn more. Of course, the supporters of this perceptive can defend it with the saying that the desire to earn money objectively prompt the prosperity of our society, which, however, cannot conceal the selfish nature of such blindly pursure of money. As a comparison, the opinion of Rawl, an ethical philosopher, seems to be more reasonable, and noble. He did not contrieve contrived to repress economic motivation, but only reminded us of one commonly neglected fact that our success is not only a result of our own efforts, but also a production of our society,and therefore we owe our society something. For illustration, Elon Musk's Tesla, an e-car company, is under vigrous development, which, in Rawl's eyes, ought not to be totally attributed to Musk's own efforts, as it would be impossible without a society determines to shift toward green-mode. Therefore, when Musk's is accumulating astonishing fortunes, he should bear in mind that he is also creating money for our society. In summary, I can understand the viewpoint that the only aim of working is earning money for oneself. However, I cannot totally agree with that since we do not live in isolation, but in a society, where every achievement, as Rawl said, is a definite symbol of social collaboration, and hence we should also work for the society which underlies our success.