As a country develops, people tend to buy more cars. Do the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

As a nation progresses, more people are inclined to purchase private vehicles such as cars. This action by individuals embodies pros and cons. In my opinion, I think that the advantages for individuals with cars do not outweigh the disadvantages for the environment. In this essay, I will be discussing how cars contribute to pollution and a reduction in biodiversity. Firstly, an increase in the number of cars on the road increases pollution. This is because engines from these vehicles release harmful gases, not only affecting the environment but also endangering the health of individuals. For example, engines release sulphur dioxide which contributes to acid rain. Acid rain affects the environment by causing a rise in greenhouse gases in the atmosphere as well as soil erosion. With respect to soil erosion, acid rain contributes to this by dissolving the nutrients such as magnesium and calcium that are needed to grow trees. However, people tend to use cars because it allows quick travelling from one destination to another. Furthermore, cars require petrol to operate which can endanger marine ecosystems. The product of petroleum is made from crude oil and hydrocarbons from natural gases. These chemicals are at risk of being discharged into the water, harming marine life. For instance, eutrophication, which reduces the level of oxygen for marine creatures is a result of chemical spillage. This reduces biodiversity which is crucial for a healthy ecosystem. In conclusion, the drawbacks of having a car such as poor air quality and endangerment of marine life do not outweigh the benefits of having a car due to the aspect of environmental damage that these vehicles bring.