Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays more countries are making it an obligation for young people to go through compulsory military service immediately after school. In this essay, I would like to discuss the pros and cons of imposing this idea on nationals and why I strongly agree with this notion of why every nation should adopt this system irrespective of gender. Firstly, war requires human resources and they need to be capable of defending against its enemy. Also, each nation has different population demographics and it becomes extremely important for all people to know how to fight war with patriotism and win it. For example, South Korea a small country has made mandatory training for all young people to serve in the army for 2 years to fight against North Korea. Secondly, women and children are said to be the most vulnerable in times of war. Hence, the system shall implement training for males and females after the age of 18, so they will be able to protect themselves. Conversely, I would also argue that young people may lose their precious age leading to opportunity costs and physical stress. For instance, training and serving army for 2 years as a youth can help at times of need but may cost one's youth by ignoring their physical needs. To summarise, I would say that compulsory army duty is good for both genders and will increase national security and safety for all nationals but would cost a person their early years, physical and mental risk. Hence, it's important to find a balance and find a middle ground to implement this idea.