Tourism today creates a variety of problems, such as pollution due to flights, traffic congestion and water pollution. Do you think that governments should impose extra taxes on flights or accommodation to restrict today’s tourism industry? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, tourism creates a range of problems, such as pollution because of flights, water pollution, and traffic jams. I personally believe that the government should enforce additional tax on flights and accommodations to minimize the occurrence of tourism. This essay will discuss the reason for my viewpoint and add examples from personal knowledge. To start with, if people have to pay extra tax for travel costs and accommodation, they will be less encouraged to travel and that will result in low fossil fuel use and pollution. Restricting the tourism industry will encourage people to travel less, and make people conscious of environmental issues. People from the USA, for example, have to pay the government extra tax, if they want to travel abroad. The more distance they want to travel, the more tax they have to pay for this. Travel companies are circulating a lot of attractive advertisements to appeal to travellers and the economic conditions of people have also improved a lot. Therefore, if the government does not impose an extra tax on travel, people will travel as much as they can, and that will lead to a disastrous environmental concern. For example, in Maldives, there are no extra tax costs for travel, which encourages tourists to travel a long distance, which is severely impacting the environment. Therefore, the government should impose an extra tax on travel to restrict the travel industry. To conclude, restricting the travel industry is required to save the environment. Unrestricted travel leads to environmental concerns, and the government should come forward to tackle this issue.