In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Many rural areas are becoming abandoned due to suburban residents migrating to big cities. While this demographic offers several benefits, I believe its presented drawbacks outweigh its advantages. At individual and societal levels, this phenomenon holds substantial benefits. Rural areas usually lack adequate amenities for education, whereas megacities, where individuals get a chance to obtain higger degrees and unleash their hidden potential, can help them to achieve higger goals. These achievements are both beneficial for themselves and society at large. For instance, Murlikant Petkar, India's first paralympic gold-medal swimmer, was found to be gifted only after he moved to the city and joined the Indian army. Secondly, with ever-growing industries, this sheer number of labour forces can be a viable solution for Industries' problems. Big companies can hire undereducated rural people to work with lower wages and generate revenue for them. This opportunity provides a chance to tackle the problem of workforce shortage as well as reduce the financial strain caused by high payments to educated people for mundane tasks. However, this influx of individuals brings about significant problems at individual and societal levels. Most people migrate to big cities in order to find high-paid jobs; however, their expectations for a better life are usually dashed as overpopulation puts an enormous strain on the city's infrastructure and its ability to provide basic needs. These new residents with low levels of education fall short of meeting the occupation's requirements; thereby, without decent housing and adequate payments, their quality of life is hindered. This can add up to another problem, as the reality does not live up to their expectations, and they are deprived of their accustomed nature's tranquility and serenity; they become more susceptible to mental health issues such as chronic depression in the long term. Moreover, farmers are key food suppliers, and their displacement causes problems in the harvesting sector. Without the experts' supervision and adequate workforce, rural people will not be able to produce nutritious foods in huge proportions. This shortage of food supply triggers the occurrence of famine around the whole community. Consequently, suburban individuals ' migration not only presents damaging effects on individuals but also endangers the whole society's well-being. In conclusion, assessing the overall impact of rural people's migration is a complex task. However, I am of the opinion that this phenomenon presents more negative consequences in face of which offered benefits pale.