Some people suggest that social networking and online communication have increased social isolation. In what ways do you think this has happened? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Mark Zuckerberg once said “The thing that we are trying to do at Facebook is just help people connect and communicate more efficiently’’. In an age where communicating and networking has become all about technology how do we know when it is time to step away and look somewhere else but our screens? Taking it as a whole, as a society, we have become accustomed to the fact that we can connect and interact alongside others in the comfort of our living spaces. Furthermore, social networking has grown into a living habit that we can no longer live without, it is actually quite simple, if you can do it from the comfort of your own bed why bother? However, this ease of connection comes at a price. In my opinion, many unknowingly choose digital interactions over face-to-face connections, isolating themselves which distances them from others. Moreover, another way social networking can lead to social isolation is by creating superficial bonds or by being left feeling disconnected from the real world. For instance, during a cold I was staying home, away from my friends and colleagues and I had found myself online engaging with their posts and keeping up by messaging them on media platforms like Instagram or Facebook. Many of my interactions were limited and did not bring me the same euphoria as actually seeing them and keeping a conversation in person. To conclude while interacting online does have its advantages, it often leads to isolation. Additionally, by promoting meaningful interactions and seeking a balance we can combat the loneliness that rises from our screens.