In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message.

Nowadays, diverse ways of children's appropriate treatment are a controversial subject among parents. In some areas, children are taught that if they seriously strive for what they want they can acquire that. Although this manner has some positive points for kids, it bears some potential drawbacks which should be taken into consideration; all of these points will be discussed in the following paragraphs. By passing down such message to children, they will experience many benefits in their future as they have been induced they have strong abilities to tackle any problems and become successful in them. In other words, their sense of self-confidence—the feeling which is an essential factor in facing problems—will be boosted thus, they will be more ambitious to achieve their objectives and personal best. Besides, as they have learnt to practice adequately hard, they will gain more self-efficiency in the fields that they are occupying. Therefore, they will become a person who is more confident, practical and hardworking because they push themselves to the limits and take the challenges to achieve more victories in their lives. This message, however, can face children with some negative points which will have irreparable consequences. In the beginning, accomplishing some tasks such as being a professional singer or being an incredible dancer requires an intrinsic talent which is not available in everyone, hence even by making serious attempts, such accomplishments cannot be obtained; in this situation, people who have been persuaded by such notion will get a tough beaten. Accordingly, people will experience some mental disorders including anxiety, frustration, and eventually depression, the side effects which can cause demotivation, and aimlessness in their future lives. In conclusion, there is a perspective in some societies which explains to children that by making sufficient struggles, they can achieve what they desire. Conveying such attitude to kids will benefit them in various areas like gaining more confidence in coping with issues, while it has also some disadvantages which can lead to some psychological problems in the future.