In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own countries. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad. What are the advantages and the disadvantages of this development?

People nowadays have more opportunities to study abroad than in the past. This phenomenon has both benefits and drawbacks. The benefit is that student can enhance their knowledge in countries with a better education systems. However, it reduces the number of enrolled students in their own country. This essay will elaborate on both sides. On the one hand, developed countries such as Indonesia have a lower rank of education system and pursuing a degree in a country with a better academic system will expose the students to more knowledge and increase the quality of people. Besides, they can acquire more insight through interaction with classmates from various backgrounds, and as a result, it will broaden their perspective. In Indonesia, for example, there is a scholarship for students to study abroad, the students are able to deepen their knowledge and contribute even more after they come back. On the other hand, because the education sector contributes to the government's gross domestic profit or GDP, the low number of students in the country will reduce the GDP as well. The universities charge their students with a tuition fee to develop the facilities and if the enrolled students are below expectations, it will affect the development. In the chemistry major, for instance, the staff should maintain the lab facilities periodically thus the undergraduates and postgraduates can obtain proper lab experiences and as a consequence of the low number of students, they can not maintain it properly. To conclude, the increase in the opportunities for students to study abroad in the country also increases the people's quality because they can obtain a better education and implement it after they go back. However, it leads to a decrease number of students in the country and affects the GDP and education facilities development.