Fewer and fewer children are willing to look after their parents as they get older these days. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

According to the opinion of some people, today just a small amount of grown children take care of their parents as they get older. This essay will present the argument against this trend. First and foremost there are some countries in the world, like Italy and the Caucasian area where people live in big communities because traditions and customs play a significant role. Family members have tight bonds and family gathering with communications is an important part of their lives. The old generation in these societies is cherished and looking after them is an honour. This is the fundamental rule, that all generations should be respected with elders on top. Another factor is mutual help, where the grown-up generation has their own children and grandparents look after grandchildren. This example of connection between family members, in case the family is not dysfunctional helps surround a child with love, care and proper upbringing. Almost every parent admits, that they rely more on their own parents than to give a child to kindergarten from an early years. When the grandparents need care at a vulnerable age, children pay back with respect and stay near. Thus looking after parents is the normal experience of many societies. On the contrary, some modern-styled adults want to keep independence up to very senior ages. They deliberately choose to live alone without disturbance, are quite active and like travelling. This category of people thinks opposite to societies shown before they do not want to be a burden to anybody till the end of their days and choose get help from government caring organisation, than from their relatives. In conclusion, nevertheless, there are some people who hold the idea that independence is a priceless resource, I tend to think that people who prefer looking after their parents gain the priceless experience of being with loved ones for as long as possible.