Some people argue that mass media only brings negative effects to society and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While some contend that the impact of mass media is purely negative on society, I argue that these drawbacks pale into insignificance compared to its immeasurable advantages. Therefore, mass media prohibition solely because it is not in favour of certain groups is not an ideal solution. Admittedly, the irreparable consequences that mass media brings about in different social groups increase the propensity for it to be banned. Firstly, certain programmes prioritize revenue generation over individuals’ health. These reality TV shows, advertisements, and magazines are tinted with sensationalized information that might cause detrimental effects on people’s lives. For example, the illustration of thin models on the front pages of health and fashion magazines has led to teenagers becoming oversensitive about their weight. This distorted mentality can deter them from eating wholesome, healthy meals, which in turn can cause several chronic problems, such as anorexia and depression. This unfortunate phenomenon adds to another problem. Although doctors and nurses try to remedy the situation and encourage a more balanced lifestyle by prescribing medicines and providing guidance, their efforts pale compared to the significant influence of alluring images and widespread broadcastings. Therefore, an immense portion of healthcare funding will be allocated only for a futile attempt to fight a losing battle. However, these drawbacks pale compared to the accessibility and reliability of these platforms favour the majority of society. One primary advantage of mass media is its easy access to news and information. By rolling news, live streams, and daily newspapers, people can learn about the latest incidents 24 hours a day. Being cognizant of pressing issues enables individuals to plan and act accordingly, as well as predict how events ultimately unfold. This approach helps to prevent problems and take measures in order to address issues. For instance, the awareness of natural hazards in advance gives people adequate time to store much-needed items. Moreover, while alternative media, such as social media platforms, contribute to broadcasting news, it is impossible to check the validity of information and its sources, whereas mass media is obligated to operate under the rules imposed. As a result, banning the mainstream media from broadcasting ultimately prohibits individuals from accessing validated information. In conclusion, it is not feasible to ban mass media when its benefits have been proven to outweigh its disadvantages.