Many people believe that countries should produce food for the whole population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that food is a fundamental need of a nation. However, there are several countries that conduct massive import of foods from another countries. I have a balanced view regarding this issue. Not all variety of food can be produced in a particular nation even though there is a significant demand from society. Therefore, the things that can be done by the government is by looking at the export-import data before formulating any decisions. For instance, in Indonesia, there is a high demand of noodles, and one of the raw materials to produce dry noodles is wheat, henceforth, the Indonesian government should import the material from the producing country such as Russia. On the other hand, there are several basic crops that can be planted in a country to ensure its food security. For example, in Indonesia, most of the dishes are made of rice or cassava, therefore, ensuring the continuous supply of these crops allows Indonesia to achieve its Zero Hunger mission. Furthermore, If the government wants to be independent and ensure the sustainability of food supplies, it is required to conduct multiple research on plants that suitable to the nation's climate. A good case in point is that the Indonesian government can decide to invest heavily on productive plants that suitable to rainy and dry seasons such as pineapple, potatoes, and cassava. Consequently, this investment will deliver post-harvest continuous supplies of these plants. At its core, the decision making processes rely heavily on the type of plants and the society's demand, hence, whatever kind of decision the government made must deliver highest satisfaction to its people.