Some people say that supermarkets and manufacturers have a responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging the products they sell. Others say that consumers should avoid buying products which have a lof of packaging. Discuss both views

Many individuals hold that supermarkets and producers are in charge of decreasing the quantity of packaging of the stuff they are trading while others believe buyers should be responsible for avoiding purchasing products packed with multiple layers. This essay intends to analyse the aforementioned views. On the one hand, proponents of the former idea claim that the responsibility to reduce the amount of product packaging belongs to malls and manufacturers. Firstly, a decline in the quantity of unnecessary wrapping in manufacturing processes contributes to a lower cost resulting in a more competitive price attributed as a main factor fostering consumers to buy stuff which, consequently, creates economic development. Secondly, lessening packaging layers leads to a decrease in the need for materials. As a result, it helps to save natural resources and contribute to positive impacts on the environment. On the other hand, supporters of the latter view consider that consumers ought to refrain from paying money for goods which are wrapped in many layers leading to a decrease in consumption demand affecting directly businesses involving producers and shopping malls. As a result, these organizations have to address this issue by applying sustainable alternatives in order to prevent negative impacts related to sales volume. Furthermore, the cutting of consumption applied for over-packed commodities can lead to reducing trash, partly tackling environmental issues. In conclusion, producers and supermarkets take the role of reducing the number of goods packaging, whilst shoppers are also accounted for changing their attitudes towards these types of products by minimizing the amount of purchase.