Many criminals re-offended after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is true to say that many former inmates often return back to criminal behaviour once they have been released from prison. There are several key factors behind this situation and this essay will recommend some possible solutions to mitigate the issue. High reoffending rates are due to multifaceted factors. Firstly, when someone finally gets released from prison, their employment options are severely limited. This might be because most individuals who commit crimes from poor economic backgrounds where education is not properly provided. Subsequently, they may find difficulty in the job hunting process because of the lack of necessary job skills for specific positions which keep them from stable and high salaries jobs. Moreover, this is exacerbated by their permanent criminal record since many employers may feel reluctant to hire them. This is probably owing to the perception that ex-felons are unreliable and more likely to commit an act of misconduct. When there are no job opportunities available to them, ex-offenders frequently turn to criminal activities in an attempt to obtain drugs or money. One possible solution might be diverting more resources to rehabilitation programs including education and vocational training. Through these programs, prisoners can acquire new skills and gain the tools they need to re-enter as law-abiding citizens. Another positive approach could be to make ex-offenders perform unpaid services under the supervision of an authority. According to a number of studies, those who are actively involved in their communities are more likely to refrain from illegal activity that could endanger their neighbours or fellow residents. In conclusion, many criminals who complete their prison term return to commit crimes due to the challenge of obtaining steady work after release and lack of education. The possible initiatives to address the issue might be to provide inmates with training while they are incarcerated and to require them to conduct unpaid services upon their release.