Some people seek a lot of advice from family and friends when choosing their career. Others feel it is better to choose a career more independently. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

When choosing a future career, people generally tend to either consult those they are close to or make the choice themselves. Whilst both paths are equally valid, I am of firm belief that every person should decide on their own future without intervention, as their life is constructed of choices they make, as well as their deeds. Firstly, whatever career a person opts for is going to be their main field of study in the foreseeable future, meaning that if a wrong choice is made under pressure a person is likely to be unhappy long term. For instance, a friend of mine has succumbed to her father’s will and is now studying Journalism, which she has no interest in. Having to engage in Journalism related activities makes her miserable due to her true interest being Linguistics. Secondly, peer and parental pressure is oftentimes difficult to cope with. Not every person can find it in them to change their career after graduation from a higher education establishment. That may result in never finding out the extent of their potential in an area they are enthusiastic about. My mother can serve as an example of such a circumstance. Her childhood dream was to become a veterinarian, yet she was advised at first and forced by her parents later to enroll in engineering. At this point in time she is 44 years old and is still pondering the thought of whether she would do good in the medical field or not. Both these examples highlight how a choice made under outsiders’ authority was the wrong one. In conclusion, while for some it may be fruitful to seek advice from their loved ones, friends and family alike, the final decision should be made independently in order to avoid getting into a situation that can lead to misery and regret in the future.