The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will (modal) lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

It is thought by some people that English, which (subordinator) is now the most widely spoken language in the world, may one day predominate over all other languages and result in their eventual disappearance. Having (gerund) one language would (modal) certainly aid understanding and economic growth, but there will also be (modal) some drawbacks. One evident benefit (collocation) to having (gerund) one global language is that it would enable greater understanding between countries. In other words, if everyone spoke one language, there would be complete understanding between not only countries but all people around the world which would promote learning, the flow of information and ideas. Another reason that one language would be advantageous is that it would help economic growth. With all people speaking the same language, there would be fewer barriers and therefore trade would flourish between countries, resulting in a healthier world economy. On the other hand, there are obvious downsides to having only one global language. Firstly), it would mean that all other languages would eventually disappear and along with them, their cultures. The diversity of cultures is one of the joys that the world has to offer. Each culture is unique in its own way of life and own perspectives of the world which would be lost if there was only one language. Secondly, it would result in the collapse of tourism because there would be no reason to travel for pleasure and interest if all countries had the same landscapes and similar cultures. This would devastate many countries economically which rely on tourism as a source of income. To sum up, while there are plus points to having one global language, too much would be lost as a result. Maintaining local languages and cultures should be prioritised to ensure a rich world heritage for future generations. (38)