Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

In the contemporary world, teaching native languages in schools is often less important compared to teaching English. Some argue that local languages are threatened by extinction due to the educational system's approach to not teaching them. I concur that while knowing English is truly useful in modern lifestyles, the importance of local language preservation is undeniable. On the one hand, life modernization has increased the value of English understanding, especially throughout the last decade. These days, among expanded globalization in every part of our lives, such as education and business, a common language plays a vital role in individuals’ progress. Therefore, speaking in English as an international tongue, despite our original nationality, provides a good opportunity to have more productive communication. International scientific conferences, for instance, that are efficient places to share our knowledge use English as the common language so that people from all over the world can attend them. Hence, this educational approach to make students ready for this competitive world could help them to become more successful. On the other hand, local tongues are the foremost part of every culture. Native languages serve as the primary means of communication and expression within a community. Language is not merely a tool for exchanging information; it is deeply associated with culture, history, and values. Songs and stories, for example, carry a lot of meaning that depicts the moral values of each community, and by diminishing language, all these values will disappear. Hence, it is clear that one of the most important responsibilities of every country is to preserve their native tongue. In conclusion, in essence, both sides having the knowledge of an international language and a local tongue is crucial, and it is not acceptable to completely ignore the importance of having adequate lessons to protect these languages from the hanger of extinction.