In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

As it is evident, driverless and self-driving cars and vehicles are on the rise and it is no longer it is not far fetched to think, as a result of this new technology, that one day the role of the driver will utterly fall to the machines and we will assume the role of passenger. some may see this as advantageous. In contrast, others argue that though driverless cars have their merits they can not replace us. This essay will delve deeper and discuss both views. On one hand, the supporters of autonomous cars present some very compelling evidence. Firstly it has been proven that since autonomous vehicles are not affected by different human conditions such as being tired, they are less prone to make errors. Moreover, these vehicles possess sensors which are orders of magnitude of times more accurate than those of humans which, ultimately makes them safer. statistics suggest that they are up to five times less likely to be responsible for an accident than man-driven vehicles. On the other hand, we can not completely disregard the disadvantages the biggest one of them being the unpredictability that comes with it. These vehicles, while safe, may show some irregular behaviour and the result of it ranges from mild annoyance to a fatal mistake. In addition to that, when these behaviours happen there is a question of who should be held responsible which opposes an ethical and legal dilemma as well. For instance, there was an error in self-driving taxi cars in an American city that made them honk their horns at night which is, fortunately, nothing more than an annoyance, however, it shows the unpredictability that they have. To conclude, driverless vehicles, same as every new technology, are not without their fair share of drama. Some may say that is safer which is a great advantage as opposed to the ones that highlight its issues of which it has several. I personally, think its advantages do outweigh the disadvantages. I believe while we still have a long way to go, someday, we will reach a point where cars will become a mere tool driving us from point to point without us interfering.