Most countries aim to improve their standard of living through economic development, but many important social values can be lost as a result. Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages? You should write at least 250 words.

Economic development is a weapon used by many countries for a better standard of living, improves lifestyle and an enhanced infrastructure in addition to an increase in the employment level, in response many ethical values could be missed or lost in return. In this essay we will explore both the advantages and disadvantages of this proposal and demonstrate why its proponents are correct. In Regards to the benefits, striving to elevate the economic level of a country will lead to better societal and health standard, render more employment opportunities to the community that will therefore increase the living level and the overall income. For Example, Norway have a highly efficient and strong social security system which offer better chances of work, an advanced infrastructure and an effective and high-quality health care. On the other hand this expansion can lead to inequality, where the income level of one person can be relatively higher than another, which may lead to crime and mental health issues. In addition to losing the ethical values and the traditional rituals that are frequently abandoned as nations grow more industrialized. For example, the increased number of crimes in US besides to the severe mental disorders and psychological issues, that is due to the discrimination and the high standard of living. In conclusion, no one can deny the benefits and the advantages of the economic progress they are immense and immeasurable and thus the disadvantages can be minimized or at least being monitored through government, by reaching a balance between this growth and the social values.