Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some would argue that punishments should be more suitable for each type of crime, while others say that punishments ought to be tough for any situation and attempt to commit a crime, and should be taken seriously. This essay aims to discuss both views and give my opinion. On the one side, some punishments are unfair and unsuitable for some crimes. In some countries punishments are extremely harsh, it is said that they should be fixed their sentences that would be suitable for each case. To illustrate, in Iran, there is a tough punishment for drug addiction which is sending them to prison for around 5 to 6 years. From my point of view, this punishment does not help for these kinds of cases because drug addicts can gain access to drugs while in prison and will be still hooked upon release, however, l believe that the authorities should fix this problem and decide fair sentencing for each crime committed. On the other side, crimes committed should be taken seriously by punishing them for their behaviour in the same sentence such as sending them to jail. This method will be obvious to anyone who has the motivation to commit crimes and prevent them from doing it in the future because they know the consequences of doing something wrong. For instance, Switzerland has the lowest crime rate because citizens know the consequences of committing crimes due to their laws extremely having tough punishment for any crime. In conclusion, although serious and obvious punishments might be helpful and reducing the number of crimes. I believe that punishment should be fair and accurate for each case because this is the best way to preserve people’s rights.