Smokers can cause themselves serious health problems. The choice to smoke is made freely and with knowledge of dangers. Smokers should therefore expect to pay more for medical treatment than non-smokers. To what extent do you agree with this statement?Question: should pay medical treatment or not? Should smokers expect to pay more than non-smokers for medical treatment?

It is widely believed that since people who smoke regularly are aware of the consequent diseases, they have to be fined financially by paying more than non-smokers when they get sick. I strongly agree with this notion, and in the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on the reasons why I argue it has to be done. On the one hand, it can be so expensive for governments to spend money on treating sick smokers who suffer from more and more diseases as they age. It's the responsibility of the authorities to prioritize how to use their resources, and make an effort to consume them in more essential issues to improve their country in important aspects like sports or art, rather than wasting the finances for curing people who have not been responsible enough, and even failed to take care of themselves. If a person is not capable of looking after their own health, they are definitely useless for their community as well. On the other hand, paying more money can act as a hindrance, and stop individuals from smoking. If people who smoke know they are not supported by the government, they think twice before smoking or their families might put them under pressure, causing them to quit smoking. It can also be a reward for the community members who choose not to smoke. This way, the number of smokers will absolutely diminish, resulting in a healthier nation which is undoubtedly every government's priority. In conclusion, every individual who selects smoking in spite of being aware of what might happen to them, must accept and be ready to pay for the wrong habit that has caused the illness. Therefore, it is a proper decision to oblige them to pay more money when sick.