In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buy them. What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home?

In this hustle-and-bustle society, there has been ongoing debate regarding whether people should buy their own houses. Some argue that renting homes can have tons of benefits, while others are afraid of detrimental effects. This essay will explore both perspectives and present my personal viewpoint. In this neoliberal society, the prices of houses increase exponentially. It is widely agreed that most young people are not able to afford the expense of buying a house. Therefore, they prefer to rent one as their dwelling. One significant advantage of renting is that people can have less pressure on the loan. What is obvious is that ordinary people usually purchase a house and divide the loan into several years even decades. As a consequence, a majority of their salary will be used to pay for their debt, and this will impose tremendous pressure on them. With more chances to save income, those choosing to rent a house instead of buying one could enjoy better life quality in other aspects such as food and entertainment. On the other hand, some people would argue that we are supposed to own a personal space. What is also alarming is that possessing a house can complement people ’s security. Without personal property, people will have a sense of fear which is an uncertain feeling about misplacement. This disadvantage will haunt people in their daily life. In conclusion, it is evident that people should elaborately strike a balance between renting and purchasing a house. From my perspective, it is essential to leverage self-income status and decide whether to rent a house.