Some people feel that governments should control the internet to reduce cybercrime and increase security. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

In our modern day and age, technology has opened new worlds such as online trading and banking which concurrently gave a chance for new forms of criminal activities including cyber frauds and breach of security. Some individuals believe that official national authorities should have direct management of online activities to decrease such mischiefs. Strong cyber security regulations should be implemented to avoid creating gaps which can be used by criminals rather than leaning on governmental censorship. In this essay, I will discuss this topic and give my opinion. Authorities' figures have a vital role to play in providing the necessary tools to ensure safe use of the internet for their citizens. For example, most banking and governmental online services require two different methods of identification which reduces the possibility of hacking. Furthermore, in most countries today there are law enforcement sectors which are specialized in handling online crimes. On the other hand, some governments used the internet against their own citizens. In other words, they claimed that their national security is threatened by their enemies which required the need for overt censorship and limited access to information. As a result, their citizens used VPN and untrusted websites to bypass these obstacles which cyber criminals and hackers used for their activities. In conclusion, authorities' direct control of their population's access to the internet is not going to solve the problem, on the contrary it will create further issues and opportunities for individuals with bad intentions to expand their wrongful actions. Alternatively, governments should invest more in technological advancements which help strengthen their online safety and security.