Some feel that tourism endangers culture while others feel it is beneficial. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There is an argument whether tourism, as a major global industry, is a productive or detrimental phenomenon for culture. This essay will argue that if an effective management approach is not adopted, this could have bad effects on local traditions, while it has numerous benefits. On the one hand, a mismanaged tourism industry leads to destroying local communities’ lifestyles and subsequently their culture. Citizens of tourist destinations may become willing to change their local jobs or customs because of the influx of tourists because they are prone to make more money and have a more convenient life. Numerous Rasht native inhabitants, for instance, who were traditionally farmer have sold their farmlands and adopted other types of jobs, and this massive transition endangers their culture too. Therefore, it is crucial to regulatory agencies set severe regulations to reduce this consequences as much as possible. On the other hand, proponents of the tourism industry believe that this profitable phenomenon not only encourages local communities and authorities to preserve their cultural values but also serves the funding needed for this preservation. People and governments of regions with a great number of visitors, and witnessed tourists’ enthusiasm about their traditional lifestyle, may understand more about the high value of their traditions and make more effort to protect them. Moreover, it is proven that tourism is considerably profitable because when a significant number of visitors travel to a city they need food, accommodation, and many other facilities and it leads to economic prosperity. Hence, governments can invest this income in protecting local culture and values. In conclusion, tourism is a double-faced phenomenon that can be either harmful or useful. It depends on how a community would use the high potential of this industry.