It is a good idea for people to continue working in their old age if it is possible for them to do so. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

The age limit for working has been a controversial topic for many years. People say that with the limitation age poses, old people should not be allowed to work certain jobs to not only ensure their safety but also other people. I agree with this statement to some degree. Changes in our body related to age often inhibit our ability to do our jobs well. For example, as strength and endurance decrease with age, our ability to do labour intensive jobs such as construction or working in the service industry would be diminished. Moreover, doing these kinds of jobs at an advanced age would increase the risk of injuries such as fractures or sprains. However, in industries such as healthcare, age comes with experience. With jobs like these, having old people would be advantageous. But practices and techniques often change with time as new advances and innovations are discovered and despite its advantages, the older generation tends to be set in their ways and are resistant to change. Subsequently, this quality makes them unattractive candidates for the job. Furthermore, outdated techniques and knowledge could be dangerous and may affect other people negatively. In conclusion, I believe that age should be a factor in whether a person should be allowed to work. Although, age shouldn't be the only factor considered also the physical and mental status and a person's qualification to do the job should also be put in mind. So, I recommend that precautions should be taken when considering an older person to continue working.