Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education plays a pivotal role in everyone's life as it allows them to think independently, critically as well as creatively. Similarly, it is claimed that universities should embrace the idea of having the same number of men and women in their institutions. I partially agree with the notion which I will further explain in upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, supporters of gender-balanced admissions argue that it is an ideal choice because it aims to provide equal access to education for both girls and boys. However, it is clear that in this male-dominated society, women often have to suffer from reluctance not only in education but in every field. Therefore, it is the responsibility of educational institutions which play a primary role in teaching students from scratch that this is a society where each individual has equal duties. Moreover, if all students do not receive an equal share in gaining education it has a huge impact on their future life. For instance, suppose only male children receive education and participate in everyday activities that contribute to the growth of society and families. In that case, we deny female students the opportunity to follow their skills and passion. On the other hand, it is also true that universities must accept applications based on merits; therefore, it is unfeasible for them to take the same number of students for all degree programs as most female students are more likely to pursue nursing and teaching degrees, while male mostly prefers degrees such as engineering. As a result, filling these above-mentioned courses becomes difficult based on gender equality. To conclude, although it is crucial to provide both males and females with equal footing, giving admission based on merits is also suitable for assigning seats.