Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish.

Some people think that professionals like doctors and engineers ought to be required to work in the place where they did their training. Others think they ought to be free to work in another country if they want. I believe in individual freedom. On the one hand, the first view has some points. First, in many countries where education is free, societies spend a lot of money to produce a doctor, engineer, agriculturist or scientist. They did so to get benefits from these future professionals. Now, they cannot benefit if a fresh doctor or engineer leaves the country. Second, states need many qualified people. That's why medical colleges or engineering schools were established. A nation which is already low in the number of economists, nurses or veterinary doctors will suffer more if fresh graduates do not want to serve their motherland. So, the argument is to keep them in the country where they were trained. On the other hand, the second view has some points. To begin with, why signalling some professionals out? A doctor has as much freedom as a BBA graduate. Why can a journalist move abroad but not an engineer? If they are forced against their will, but other professionals are not, they may feel discriminated. In addition, a different kind of problem may emerge. Parents who want their children to have equal freedom might not encourge them into the subjects that have limitations on them. As a result, fewers economists, scientists, or architects would be produced, making this policy a net loss for the nation. In conclusion, forcing people to do anything might not be the best solution. But if some societies do feel the need to keep certain professionals within the national boundaries, they can do so by following other means, such as encouragemet, motivation and even more benefits.