These days it is much easier for many people to travel to different countries for tourism than in the past. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In our modern day and age, travelling and exploring various parts of the world is much easier than a few decades ago. While many people enjoy this leisure activity to enrich their lives with new experiences and adventures, modern travel carries multiple drawbacks both on national and international levels. In this essay, I will give my opinion on modern travel and its negative and positive implications. It is commonly known that exploring new cultures and countries helps expand our understanding of other nations around the world. For example, Japan has rich local costumes and traditions which are reflected in so many aspects of their daily lives and until recent years our knowledge about Japan was limited to the stereotypical image portrayed by Western media which does not represent the truth about this country.Today, more and more people are travelling to this country and discovering its beautiful history. Furthermore, tourism in Japan has flourished over the last ten years and it is expected to become the number one destination in 2030. As a result, modern travel helped people to change their perception of some nations and widened their horizons. However, while travelling helped people around the world to connect and communicate with each other, this development has negative implications for the environment. Commercial airlines and cruises burn fossil fuel ten times more than all factories around the world. Also, tourist camping groups in forests and natural reserves were associated with an increase in reported cases of fires and littering which harmed the wild animals and plants in these areas. In Saudi Arabia, deep parts of the Empty Quarter desert are protected and people are not allowed to go in to preserve the wildlife there. In conclusion, although tourism and modern travel help people to experience new adventures and cultures in a more convenient way than before, they also, cause increased pollution and endangered natural life in some parts of the world. For this reason. regulations and tourism protocols should be implemented to minimize the harmful impact on the environment.