Nowadays, the traditions and customs relating to the food we eat and the way we eat are changing. Why is this happening? Do you think this kind of change is positive or negative?

It has been observed that the method that we eat and our traditional cuisine have alternated in recent years, with an increasing consumption of convenience store food. Some people may assert this aspect as beneficial while others may hold a view against this change. From my point of view, I believe that this is a neutral change neither extremely outbreaking nor harmful. One of the main benefits of this change is longer leisure time for employees. First, the major reason associated with this trend is that nowadays people's free time has been greatly reduced due to excessive workload outside office hours, which allows them little to no time to perform traditional cooking practices. A good illustration of this would be Vietnamese Rice cake, a cake made of sticky rice and pork belly, which is indicated to take around 8 hours to complete the recipe. This strongly suggests that time -consuming dishes have a higher chance of getting neglected by urban people. Indeed, those meals are replaced with quicker and more convenient ones. As a result, less time is dedicated to cooking, which allows individuals to have more leisure time. However, there are several drawbacks to the change with the loss of cultural values as highly noticeable. Modernization prioritizes practicality which indeed reduced the popularity of spiritual practices that involved food. For example, even though vegan meals are consumed in Asian nations during full moon days, this number has displaced a downward trend, indicating that fewer people are interested in the practice. This could cause the extinction of some sentimental traditions that were inherited from generation to generation, lowering a country's cultural diversity. In conclusion, it is commonly suggested that the customs relating to eating have changed over time; meanwhile, others refute this change. I'm convinced that this trend is necessary to adapt with nowadays lifestyle.