In many parts of the world, children are given more freedom now than in the past. Is it a positive development or a negative development?

These days, a lot is spoken about child rights. In fact, many parents across the globe allow independence to their young ones, unlike in the past. In my humble opinion, the benefits of granting freedom to children outweigh its risks. In the past, parents were the ones to decide on behalf of their kids, which led to potential struggles in a child's adulthood. On the contrary, letting them make their own decisions, giving them full access to freedom, making them more confident and self-sufficient, and, moreover, assisting them to get to know about how things work at an early age on their own without external help. Hence, they'll be prepared to face complex and challenging situations later on in their lives. For example, if the child gets to know to do the activity that he or she likes, they'll definitely be more confident taking up a related profession in the future. On the other hand, there are a few pitfalls to this trend. Excess empowerment of teens could cause some profound impact on children themselves without proper parental supervision. Despite being a useful tool to learn the ways in which the world operates, kids can get into wrongdoing, which brings irreparable damage, consequently, making them victims of child abuse or death. For instance, there was an online game that led teenagers to take up their lives by manipulating them. At first, it was just a strange game with some tasks to accomplish, but later on, most teens ended up committing suicide without any explanations. To conclude, children today are more independent than the previous generation, which generates a great deal of confidence in them, therefore,helping them to perform better in their lives.