Some people think school should only teach academic subject. Others think school should also teach students how to discriminate between right and wrong. Discuss both view and give you own opinion.

It is sometimes argued that school-aged children should exclusively spend their time learning scientific and educational topics, while others subscribe to the view that this opportunity should be taken advantage of, in order to teach them about ethical merits. While both ideas might be correct to some extent, I believe it is irresponsible of the educational institutes to neglect children ’s moral upbringing. One reason that some are opposed to discussing ideological topics with children at educational facilities, is the fact that it is hard to draw a line between what’s right and wrong, when we factor in thousands of religions or schools of thought that people subscribe to. If the school’s ethical education, contradicts parents’ upbringing method, it may end up confusing children. Additionally, the school’s purpose should be to equip children with adequate knowledge to prepare them for interacting with the world, meanwhile, with science being infinite and ever-expanding, most of their time should be focused on giving pupils a grasp on the fundamentals of different academic subjects. Furthermore, it is undeniable that if the younger generation, isn’t provided with knowledge about the societal merits by the educational facilities, they cannot be expected to be capable of functioning as a committing member of society in the future. If a group of young people are left unintended ethically, they might turn out ignorant and arrogant adults. For the aforementioned reasons, teaching children to discriminate right and wrong based on a nation’s culture, is crucial to raise a responsible generation of adults. In conclusion, I would argue that although it is advisable to dedicate the majority of school hours to teaching students about academic topics, instilling ethical values during this time period shouldn’t be overlooked.