In some countries, university students study near their home and live with their family, while in others students have to study in another city. Do the advantages of living away from home outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays university students around the world have the opportunity to study near their home. However, living away from their family might be better, due to the learner could have enhanced independence and cultural exposure. This essay will discuss the reasons why the advantages of living away from home outweigh the disadvantages. First of all, one main idea is enhanced independence: it allows to people gain new life skills such as learning to manage their own schedules or daily necessities. For example, I am from Colombia but I am living in Spain doing my PhD, and this experience has helped me improve my economic and social independence, because, I have had to learn to manage my money. Consequently, staying in another country helps with personal autonomy. Secondly, cultural exposure is another idea why living in another places is better. A person who is learning near their parents, can not take the experience to extend the knowledge about other culture. In the case of a student who does not know about the culture of another country, could not understand different behaviours and broaden their horizons. For this reason, it is crucial to know about another civilization. To sum up, a student who lives without their parents in another city could enforce some life skills, such as autonomy and knowledge about multiple cultures. Consequently, people who want to study should to decide living in another place with a long distance from home, if they want to improve their autonomy skills and dive into other cultures.