In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that the current world we are living in is being highly developed in terms of technology. We are adapted to use our hands and brains to drive a car. But in the near future, technology will be the driver. I couldn’t predict the future, but from my perspective, the advantages this trend holds would outweigh the disadvantages. On one hand, autonomous vehicles have a huge number of benefits once being widely used, offering a new way of driving to people, especially: the handicapped and people with illnesses that could affect the experience of using cars. Second, vehicles installed with artificial intelligence could reduce car crashes to a low rate. A number of tests and studies have shown that with the combination of quick reflection of the CPU and the greatly compatible software. For instance, the risk of accidents caused by drunk or texting while driving will be decreased. Third, traffic jams would decrease. Autonomous systems can optimize speeds and communicate with other cars for current traffic situations, hence improving the driving experience. On the other hand, a number of employees who get involved entirely in personal vehicle commuting would have a hard time dealing with unemployment, unless corporations have some plans to combine both human resources and driverless vehicles smoothly. Also, we do not assure that it is one hundred percent safe. Furthermore, ethical and legal challenges are still questionable, deciding how a vehicle should react in potential accident scenarios raises difficult questions. Additionally, legal liability in accidents involving autonomous vehicles is a complex issue that will require new laws and frameworks. In conclusion, self-driving vehicles would raise issues with laws and many job losses. It is still worth considering using self-driving vehicles widely, thanks to many advantages that contribute to the handicapped community and also the traffic flow in the future.